Past Major Award Winners

logo_cornerHere is a list of past SCJ Award winners. To learn more on how to enter, visit our Contest & Awards page for award descriptions, rules, and nomination forms.


McDonald Chapter of the Year Award
1974 Eastern Illinois University
1975 Radford University, Va.
1976 Western Illinois
1977 Northwestern Missouri State University
1978 Radford University, Va.
1979 College of William & Mary, Va.
1980 Franklin College, Ind.
1981 Hastings College, Neb.
1982 Marycrest College, La.
1983 Evangel College, Mo.
1984 Franklin College, Ind.
1985 No award given
1986 Southeastern Louisiana University
1987 Carson-Newman College, Tenn.
1988 Clarion University of Pennsylvania
1989 No award given
1990 Midland Lutheran College, Neb.
1991 No award given
1992 No award given
1993 No award given
1994 Winona State University, Minn.
1995 Evangel College, Mo.
1996 Kingsborough Community College, N.Y.
1997 Berry College, Ga.
1998 Clarion University of Pennsylvania
1999 Virginia Wesleyan College
2000 Tennessee Technological University
2001 Mount St. Mary’s College, Md.
2002 Ocean County College, N.J.
2003 Wartburg College, Iowa
2004 Valdosta State, Ga.
2005 Virginia Wesleyan College
2006 No award given
2007 Elizabethtown College, Pa.
2008 Cabrini College, Pa.
2009 Barton College, Wilson, N.C.
2010 Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden-Sydney, VA
2011 Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania
2015 Marywood University, Scranton, Pa.

Outstanding New Chapter
2011 Keene State College, Keene, N.H.
2015 Ohio Northern University, Ada, Oh.

Barlow Student Journalist of the Year Award
1994 Dan Spano, Winona State University, Minn.
1995 William R. O’Neil, University of Nebraska at Kearney, Neb.
1996 Melissa Kenreigh, Marietta College, Ohio
1997 Vincent Chesney, Mt. St. Mary’s College, Md.
1998 Steve Price, University of North Alabama, Ala.
1999 Mary Beth Curry, Clarion University, Pa.
2000 Melissa S Harris, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2001 Judith A. Gildemeister, Carson Newman College, Tenn.
2002 Victoria Scavo, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2003 Andrew Hackmack, SUNY at New Paltz, N.Y. AND Jerry Moore, North Carolina State University, N.C.
2004 Julia Green, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2005 La-Aja Wiggins, Clarion University, Pa.
2006 No award given
2007 Dustin Major, Clarion University, Pa.
2008 Adrienne Sabo, Youngstown State University, Oh.
2009 Andrew Seaman, Wilkes University
2010 Josh Rizzo, Slippery Rock University
2011 Jose Martinez, Loyola Marymount University AND Anthony O’Hagan, Utica College
2015 Leah Fleischel, Robert Morris University

Barker Adviser of the Year Award
2000 Shirley Shedd, Evangel College, Md.
2001 William Ruehlmann, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2002 William Lawbaugh, Mount St. Mary’s College, Md.
2003 William Ruehlmann, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2004 Arthur Barlow, Clarion University of Pennsylvania, Pa.
2005 Kate Hastings, Susquehanna University, Pa.
2006 Vivian Wagner, Muskingum College, Oh.
2007 Mary Jennings, University of North Alabama, Ala.
2008 Rick Stewart, Barton College, N.C.
2009 Frank Barnas, Valdosta State University, Ga.
2010 Martha Collins, North Carolina State University
2011 Sharon Behl Brooks, Hastings College

Outstanding New Adviser
2011 Allison Dyche, Savannah College of Art and Design
2012 Andrea Frantz, Robert Morris University
2013 Lindsey Wotanis, Marywood University
2014 Joan Price, Marietta College
2015 Shane Tilton, Ohio Northern University

Ingelhart SCJ Freedom of Expression Award
(note: this is not an annual award)
2006 Kelli Davis, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2007 Karen Bosely, Ocean County Community College, N.J.
2009 Robert Naylor, Jr., The Associated Press
2010 Dave Demers, Washington State University, Edward R. Murrow College of Communication
2011 Michael Koretzky, The University Press (Florida Atlantic Univ., volunteer adviser)
2014 Gene Polichinski, First Amendment Center/Newseum

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s