Past Major Award Winners

logo_cornerHere is a list of past SCJ Award winners. To learn more on how to enter, visit our Contest & Awards page for award descriptions, rules, and nomination forms.

McDonald Chapter of the Year Award
2016 Robert Morris University, Pittsburgh, Pa.
2015 Marywood University, Scranton, Pa.
2011 Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania
2010 Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden-Sydney, VA
2009 Barton College, Wilson, N.C.
2008 Cabrini College, Pa.
2007 Elizabethtown College, Pa.
2006 No award given
2005 Virginia Wesleyan College
2004 Valdosta State, Ga.
2003 Wartburg College, Iowa
2002 Ocean County College, N.J.
2001 Mount St. Mary’s College, Md.
2000 Tennessee Technological University
1999 Virginia Wesleyan College
1998 Clarion University of Pennsylvania
1997 Berry College, Ga.
1996 Kingsborough Community College, N.Y.
1995 Evangel College, Mo.
1994 Winona State University, Minn.
1993 No award given
1992 No award given
1991 No award given
1990 Midland Lutheran College, Neb.
1989 No award given
1988 Clarion University of Pennsylvania
1987 Carson-Newman College, Tenn.
1986 Southeastern Louisiana University
1985 No award given
1984 Franklin College, Ind.
1983 Evangel College, Mo.
1982 Marycrest College, La.
1981 Hastings College, Neb.
1980 Franklin College, Ind.
1979 College of William & Mary, Va.
1978 Radford University, Va.
1977 Northwestern Missouri State University
1976 Western Illinois
1975 Radford University, Va.
1974 Eastern Illinois University

Outstanding New Chapter
2015 Ohio Northern University, Ada, Oh.
2011 Keene State College, Keene, N.H.

Barlow Student Journalist of the Year Award
2018 Grant Pepper, Ohio Northern University
2016 Rachel Looker, Marywood University
2015 Leah Fleischel, Robert Morris University
2011 Jose Martinez, Loyola Marymount University AND Anthony O’Hagan, Utica College
2010 Josh Rizzo, Slippery Rock University
2009 Andrew Seaman, Wilkes University
2008 Adrienne Sabo, Youngstown State University, Oh.
2007 Dustin Major, Clarion University, Pa.
2006 No award given
2005 La-Aja Wiggins, Clarion University, Pa.
2004 Julia Green, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2003 Andrew Hackmack, SUNY at New Paltz, N.Y. AND Jerry Moore, North Carolina State University, N.C.
2002 Victoria Scavo, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2001 Judith A. Gildemeister, Carson Newman College, Tenn.
2000 Melissa S Harris, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
1999 Mary Beth Curry, Clarion University, Pa.
1998 Steve Price, University of North Alabama, Ala.
1997 Vincent Chesney, Mt. St. Mary’s College, Md.
1996 Melissa Kenreigh, Marietta College, Ohio
1995 William R. O’Neil, University of Nebraska at Kearney, Neb.
1994 Dan Spano, Winona State University, Minn.

Barker Adviser of the Year Award
2018 Shane Tilton, Ohio Northern University
2016 Andrea Frantz, Buena Vista University
2011 Sharon Behl Brooks, Hastings College
2010 Martha Collins, North Carolina State University
2009 Frank Barnas, Valdosta State University, Ga.
2008 Rick Stewart, Barton College, N.C.
2007 Mary Jennings, University of North Alabama, Ala.
2006 Vivian Wagner, Muskingum College, Oh.
2005 Kate Hastings, Susquehanna University, Pa.
2004 Arthur Barlow, Clarion University of Pennsylvania, Pa.
2003 William Ruehlmann, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2002 William Lawbaugh, Mount St. Mary’s College, Md.
2001 William Ruehlmann, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.
2000 Shirley Shedd, Evangel College, Md.

Outstanding New Adviser
2015 Shane Tilton, Ohio Northern University
2014 Joan Price, Marietta College
2013 Lindsey Wotanis, Marywood University
2012 Andrea Frantz, Robert Morris University
2011 Allison Dyche, Savannah College of Art and Design

Ingelhart SCJ Freedom of Expression Award
(Note: This is not an annual award.)

2018 Andrew Seaman, Outgoing SPJ Ethics Chair / Reporter at LinkedIn
2016 Steve Listopad, New Voices
2014 Gene Polichinski, First Amendment Center/Newseum
2011 Michael Koretzky, The University Press (Florida Atlantic Univ., volunteer adviser)
2010 Dave Demers, Washington State University, Edward R. Murrow College of Communication
2009 Robert Naylor, Jr., The Associated Press
2007 Karen Bosely, Ocean County Community College, N.J.
2006 Kelli Davis, Virginia Wesleyan College, Va.

Earnheardt Award for Service (est. 2016)
2018 Wanda K. Robinson, Eastern Illinois University / SCJ National Office Assistant
2017 No award
2016 Buena Vista University Chapter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s