RMU chapter inducts 18 new members, hosts 1A event

The Robert Morris University chapter inducted 18 new members yesterday, October 2, at its annual SCJ induction ceremony. COMM department chair Dr. Anthony Moretti offered remarks at the ceremony attended by students, faculty, family, and friends.

Sixteen of the 18 new inductees, plus SCJ chapter adviser Carrie Moniot, stand behind the chapter’s four officers, seated L-R: Secretary Malyk Johnson, VP Morgan Torchia, Treasurer Tori Flick and President Sam Anthony.

Earlier in the day, the chapter also hosted its first-ever First Amendment event, titled “Is the First Amendment Under Fire in Pittsburgh?”

Guest speakers included former Pittsburgh Post Gazette political cartoonist Rob Rogers (via Skype); free speech activist Joan Bauer; former Pittsburgh City Paper Editor Charlie Deitch; and Napier University (Edinburgh) literature professor Alistair McCleery.

Kudos to our RMU chapter on its induction ceremony and 1A event. And a hearty welcome to the 18 newly inducted members of our SCJ family!

Don’t forget! Please send along photos of your awards ceremonies so we can share your good news with the rest of our SCJ family. Email pictures and information to scjnationaloffice@gmail.com.

New Savannah State chapter holds first induction ceremony

We have a new member of the SCJ family!

We are pleased to welcome Savannah State University, which created a new SCJ chapter this semester. On April 11, the new chapter held its first induction ceremony, initiating 12 founding members.

Eleven of the 12 founding members of the new Savannah State University SCJ chapter with advisers Jessica Sparks and William Martin.

President of the new chapter, Isaiah Singleton, said, “Our initial goals are to expand general knowledge of communications standards and excellence through mentoring and networking opportunities, academic programs and to create experiences for high-achieving students. We also hope to incorporate alumni into our process for achieving these goals.”

Thank you to adviser Jessica Sparks for sharing this good news and photo!

Don’t forget! Please send along photos of induction ceremonies, SCJ-sponsored events, and the like so we can share your good news with the rest of our SCJ family. Email pictures and information to scjnationaloffice@gmail.com.

Buena Vista Chapter inducts new members, honors seniors

The Buena Vista University (Storm Lake, IA) chapter celebrated its induction of 11 new members April 12.

First Row (L to R): Dee Friesen, Vice President/Service Coordinator; Morgan McGrew, President; Kyle Wiebers, Treasurer; Dr. Andrea Frantz, Faculty Adviser (not pictured, Madeleine McCormick, Secretary/Social Media] Second Row (L to R) New Members: Job Saunders, Tawney Schreier, Emily Kenny, Katelyn Bohaty, Olivia Wieseler, Allyssa Ertz, Megan Snyder, Alyssa Donnelly, Tyler Brunner, Andrew Bandstra Third Row (L to R): Tiffany Brauckman, Kylee Deering, Sarah Nicholson, Cooper Maahs (not pictured: Tanner Hoops, Brittany Poeppe, Mackenzie Rappe) Fourth Row (L to R): Graduating Seniors with cords: Chase Harrison, Susie Haack, Kassi Kommes, Chris Haberman, Jasmine Bautista, Emily Johnson, Meredith VanZuiden, Lindsey Graham, Spencer Bottorff, Skyler Gorsett

The newest members of the chapter are:

  • Andrew Paul Bandstra
  • Katelyn Velma Bohaty
  • Tyler Michael Brunner
  • Alyssa Renae Donnelly
  • Allyssa Beth Ertz
  • Emily Elizabeth Kenny
  • Myckeal Rake
  • Job Eastman Saunders
  • Tawney Michelle Schreier
  • Megan Eileen Snyder
  • Olivia Rose Wieseler

In addition, 10 chapter members were awarded their graduation honor cords at the same ceremony that was attended by family members, friends and faculty.  Graduating seniors include:

  • Jasmine Bautista
  • Spencer Bottorff
  • Lindsey Graham
  • Skyler Gorsett
  • Susie Haack
  • Chris Habermann
  • Chase Harrison
  • Emily Johnson
  • Kassi Kommes
  • Meredith VanZuiden

Congratulations to all!

2016-17 BVU SCJ Outgoing Board (L to R): Morgan McGrew (President); Lindsey Graham (Treasurer); Jasmine Bautista (Service Coordinator); Dee Friesen (Service Coordinator); Spencer Bottorff, (Vice President); Emily Johnson (Vice President); Kassi Kommes (Secretary); Dr. Andrea Frantz, (Adviser)

Send us your induction ceremony & graduation photos to see them featured on the SCJ National NewsFeed! Email us at scjnationaloffice@gmail.com!