SCJ Exec Director to receive CMA’s highest honor

We are so proud to announce that SCJ Executive Director, Dr. Sally Renaud, will receive the College Media Association’s highest honor, the John A. Boyd Hall of Fame.  Please read the press release from CMA below and plan to celebrate with us in Dallas next month.

Sally Renaud to be Inducted into College Media Association Hall of Fame

Dr. Sally Renaud, center, has served as SCJ’s executive director since 2014. SCJ welcomes senior journalism major and SCJ member Thaija Evans, left, in her new role as the 2017-18 student assistant for the national headquarters of SCJ in Charleston, Illinois. Evans will assist Wanda Kay Robinson, right, who handles all correspondence, budgetary items and membership materials for the organization. Robinson is the office administrator for the department of journalism at Eastern Illinois University.

Eastern Illinois University adviser and former CMA president will be honored in October in Dallas at Fall National College Media Convention

Sally Renaud, chair of the department of journalism at Eastern Illinois University in Charleston, IL, will be inducted into College Media Association’s John A. Boyd Hall of Fame in October at the Dallas Sheraton as part of the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association Fall National College Media Convention.

“Sally has made a deep impact on the college media industry. Through her work as an adviser and professor, she has inspired many students, and through her service to College Media Association and other journalism education organizations, she has welcomed and mentored many advisers,” said Kelley Lash, CMA president.

“Many CMA members tell us that Sally was the reason that they joined or volunteered for our organization, so her influence goes far beyond her own work,” said Lash. “We are thrilled to honor Sally and have her join the prestigious group of Hall of Fame recipients.”

Renaud currently serves as chair of the journalism department at Eastern Illinois University, where she has taught and advised since 2004. She also serves as executive director of Society for Collegiate Journalists and Illinois Journalism Education Association. She also serves on the board for the Illinois Press Foundation. For Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), Renaud coordinated the “Issues Facing the College Press,” the CMA research panel for several years, from 2010-2016, at the annual AEJMC convention, with Council of Affiliates.

Renaud graduated from the University of Missouri’s Journalism School and worked in sports and news at small newspapers in Missouri and Colorado. She received her master’s degree from Central Missouri State University (now University of Central Missouri) and Ph.D. in journalism from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. Before her time at EIU, she served as director of the journalism program and Student Publications, and adviser for The Bulletin at Emporia (Kan.) State University from 1995-2004.

Renaud has been a tireless volunteer and leader in College Media Association. She served as president from 2009-2011, vice president of member services from 2001-2003, and currently serves on its Advisory Council. Since joining CMA in 1995, she has chaired multiple committees including Adviser Awards, Yearbook, Newspaper, and Magazine. She has coordinated sessions and keynotes for CMA’s conventions, had participated in the organization’s critique program, and reviews articles for its flagship journal, College Media Review.

The John A. Boyd Hall of Fame Award is the most prestigious honor given by CMA, recognizing longtime members whose dedication, commitment and sacrifice have contributed to the betterment and value of student media programs of both their campus and the nation. It also recognizes the contributions of members who have devoted extensive and varied service to CMA on committees, the board of directors and other leadership roles and who have presented insightful, relevant and well-prepared programs and sessions. Those considered for this award must have contributed to college journalism education for 20 years or more while being an active member of CMA.

To learn more and to register for CMA’s National Media Convention, click here.

Don’t forget! Please send along photos of induction ceremonies, SCJ-sponsored events, and the like so we can share your good news with the rest of our SCJ family. Email pictures and information to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s