SCJ National Board announces 2015 major award winners

The National Board of the Society of Collegiate Journalists, a national honorary society for collegiate mass communication, announces its 2015 individual winners: the Arthur H. Barlow Award for Student Journalist of the Year, Edward E. McDonald Chapter of the Year Award, Outstanding New Adviser Award and the New Chapter of the Year Award. Each award recognizes the accomplishments of students, advisers or chapters that have shown exceptional work in journalism and philanthropy. Plaques were presented to all winners at their institutions.

Arthur H. Barlow Award for Student Journalist of the Year

Leah Fleischel, Robert Morris University

Her adviser, Anthony Moretti, wrote:

“Under Leah’s tenure, RMU Sentry Media completed its digital-only rollout, twice covered the President of the United States during speaking appearances in the Pittsburgh area and streamlined its leadership positions. RMUSM now is a better product with a firm commitment to news coverage, and a better operation than when she assumed the editorship.”

Ms. Fleischel also received a $500 stipend.

Edward E. McDonald Chapter of the Year

Marywood University

The chapter is active with two events annually, including News Engagement Day. SCJ members handed out local newspapers free-of-charge to students and encouraged them to engage with campus and local media through social media.

Lindsey Wotanis, chapter adviser, wrote:

“I’m very proud of the work our chapter has done in such a short amount of time not only to establish itself, but also to make a positive impact on our campus.”

SJC 2015-7846(1)

The Marywood University Chapter accepted the Edward E. McDonald Award  Chapter of the Year Award at their annual induction ceremony held on November 13, 2015. Photo courtesy Marywood University.

New Chapter of the Year/ Outstanding New Adviser

Ohio Northern University/Dr. Shane Tilton

These awards recognizes a newly established or reactivated (no longer than six years and no shorter than two years) chapter that shows enthusiasm and is a welcome new member of the SCJ family and a mentor who has advised a chapter (new or existing) for a period of no longer than six years and no shorter than two years. The adviser actively assists a chapter and its members participate in SCJ activities such as inductions, contests and philanthropy.

Tilton makes sure to help his students feel comfortable telling the hard stories they feel are important to their local community, as well as coordinate key speakers discuss the industry with his members.


ONU Chapter adviser Shane Tilton and Chapter president Ashlee McDonnell accept the Outstanding New Chapter Award. Photo courtesy Ohio Northern University.

Congratulations, all!

logo_cornerDon’t forget! Please send along photos of induction ceremonies, SCJ-sponsored events, and the like so we can share your good news with the rest of our SCJ family. Email pictures and information to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s